Merge options

Access merge options by clicking on the cogwheel icon next to the primary merge action.

Merge button options

Helix TeamHub supports the following methods for merging a code review:

You can also select the option to delete the source branch after a merge.

Merge options

Merge commit

With merge commit, a full history of changes is retained without fast-forwarding. For Git repositories, this means that the --no-ff flag is applied when merging.

This is the default method unless a different method is configured for the destination repository.

Rebase and merge

With rebase and merge, all commits will be individually rebased. The source branch is also fast forwarded to the newly rebased head, therefore avoiding the creation of an explicit merge commit.

Use rebase when you want to have a clean history free of separate merge commits.

Squash and merge

Squash and merge combines a set of commits into a single commit.

Use squash and merge if you want to keep the history minimal. A real life example for using this option would be a feature or bug fix branch with multiple work-in-progress commits that you want to combine into a final commit.

Deleting a branch

Select the Delete branch check box to delete the source branch after merging.

Note: You might not always be able to delete the source branch due to insufficient privileges (project or repository role), for example if the source branch is protected or if you are merging a fork. In this case, the check box is disabled.

Configuring defaults

Repository administrators have the ability to configure and enforce default code review settings for each repository. See the Repository settings section for more information.

Updated on: 19 December 2017